Day Four of Blog Tour

Thank you for reading this blog entry! This is the fourth post on the blog tour that I set up to begin on December 1st to give me the opportunity to reach new readers and to talk about this wonderful book. If you are following the tour, thank you for your support! If you missed the start of the book tour, please check out the three blogs for December1st-3rd listed at the end of this post. Forever Friends is now available to buy on all the major online bookstores. See the links below to amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com. If you order a copy for yourself or for your friends and family, I can promise you that you will not be disappointed. This book will grow on you as you read each new story and poem about love and friendship.

When I contacted Helen, she asked me what it took to produce the cover for Forever Friends. She said the picture almost looks like it could be me! She was also curious about how I made the male figure pop out from the words sheet.

Before I designed the cover, I put ten suggestions onto the photograph gallery on publishedauthors.com: Anthology Cover. The discussions that followed were very helpful and I quickly realized that I had not found anything that would be suitable for the theme of the anthology: friendship. So I asked a book illustrator, who was a member of the Published Authors Network, if she would be interested in designing a cover for the anthology. In return, I offered to but a bio on the copyright page. She agreed and produced a very attractive cover but it wasn’t exactly what I had in mind. I decided to do a search on the web. I searched through hundreds of images on Google image search. As soon as I saw the photograph used in the anthology cover, I knew immediately that this was going to be on the front cover. I sent the photograph to the illustrator and asked if she would use it or something similar. At the time, she had just received a number of commissions and pulled out of doing the cover for the anthology.

I decided to use it myself. I went back onto Google to find out more about the photo. Luckily, it was licensed under a Creative Commons Licence:
Creative Commons License src=
This cover is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence

Under the licence, I had to attribute the original photograph to photographer, Christopher Tovo from the M&C Saatchi Agency, Melbourne, Australia, on the copyright page of the book.

I don’t know exactly how the photograph was taken but it looks as though the white-painted arms of the young man were slipped through a thin white sheet. The letter was then projected onto the sheet at a level of light that doesn’t show up on the girl in the foreground – who does look a bit like me. In fact, she looks a bit like lots of girls I can think of. This is part of the universal appeal of the cover. The girl is not a model wearing perfect makeup to create a flawless image. She is a natural with natural charm. The girl next door – everyone’s friend!

I would like to thank Helen for inviting me to talk about Forever Friends and how the front cover was designed. Helen’s short story, Circle of Friends, is an endearing story of the bond of friendship between friends, who have stayed together through the good and bad years. As their lives turn full circle and the younger generation move on, the older generation are left to re-affirm their loyalty to one another.

Helen’s story is just one of the many stories that reflect on the importance of friendship; something we all need in our lives.

Forever Friends is available now from amazon.com:

Forever Friends

Thanks again for reading this and best wishes for the holiday season!

Shelagh Watkins

December 4 Helen Wisocki

Leave a Reply

