Nancy Kaiser

Nancy Kaiser has spent most of her life caring for and about animals, espe­cially horses. Nancy acts as a spiritual liaison for animals and their people, and lives the belief that: we are all teachers; we are all students.

Shelagh: Hi Nancy, please tell everyone a little about yourself.

Nancy: I live in the healing Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina surrounded by my family of two Labs and a horse. I operate “Just Ask” Communications, a practice devoted to healing the human-animal bond through enhanced communication and understanding. My abilities in telepathic animal communication and healing emerged while managing my husband’s equine hospital and our breeding farm in central NJ for 27 years. I’m committed to bridging the chasm that has developed between species while increasing respect for all our relations. I’m the author of Letting Go: An Ordinary Woman’s Extraordinary Journey of Healing & Transformation and can be contacted at www.NancyKaiserAnimalCommunicator.com.

Shelagh: When did the writing bug bite, and in what genre(s)?

Nancy: Letting Go: An Ordinary Woman’s Extraordinary Journey of Healing & Transformation is a memoir, which I began writing in September 05 and published in June 08.

Shelagh: When you started writing, what goals did you want to accomplish?

Nancy: I began writing, in journal form, as a way to understand how I got to where I was; living alone 600 miles from everyone I knew without a job or home. I’d been clueless, so I needed to figure out what happened and why. I also needed an outlet for the grief, anger, fear and sense of loss I was engulfed in. Writing allowed my heart to unburden itself. I didn’t start with the idea of a book, but instead a journal to help me learn, let go, and move forward.

I lost both my parents in 2000 within 3 months of each other, which is when my struggles with letting go began. In May 04, I let go of my beautiful farm in central NJ, which was my home for 27 years when my husband retired. We relocated to the mountains of North Carolina and began building our dream, retirement home on 54 acres that we bought in July 01.

Six weeks into construction of the house, my lesson in letting go intensified when my husband confessed one evening, “I never wanted this house. I never wanted to be here. This is all your dream and I feel like I’m just along for the ride.” At which point, my heart stopped. Over the next week, it became apparent we were separating and divorcing. Our 29-year relationship was over.

Encouraging friends convinced me to turn it into a book. They felt my story needed to be shared. Over time, it had taken on a life of its own. I began to realize that, while the details were unique to me, the lessons I was learning were universal. So, I made the commitment to publish my writing in order to help people learn from my experiences and hopefully shorten their own time in what I call the Abyss and the Tunnel.

Shelagh: Is there a message you want readers to grasp?

Nancy: Letting Go will help readers evaluate their own personal traumas if they’re ready. Within my lessons, they will find their own lessons. By seeing how I overcome my challenges, they will begin to confront their own. I show them very unique as well as very mundane places to look for help.

Letting Go offers messages of hope, encouragement and belief in Self. Hope in knowing that they will survive and return to being the happy person that they were before the rug was pulled out from under them. Belief that what is happening to them is truly in their highest good even though it seems like heresy to believe that. Everything always happens for a reason, and the universe always brings us exactly what we need. Might not be what we want, but it’s always what we need.

Encouragement from the fact that I am leading a happy, fulfilling life after having been brought to my knees by the most difficult thing I’ve ever experienced. Five years ago, in my darkest moments, I considered leaving this life experience. If I can transform from the darkness of my Abyss to the wonderful life I’m experiencing now, anyone can. I want everyone to know that it is imperative that they put themselves first and trust that their soul knows what its doing even if their conscious mind doesn’t. I want to be a beacon of encouragement and hope for all who find themselves without faith, hope, understanding and/or belief in Self.

I bought a little plate just before my first Christmas alone that says, “Sometimes on the way to a dream you get lost and find a better one.” I’d read it every day trying to believe it could be true. I’m living that better dream now, and I’d like to help others find their better dream as quickly and painlessly as possible.

Shelagh: Briefly tell us about your latest book. Series or stand-alone?

Nancy: I’m starting a series of books about being an animal communicator and healer; pretty amazing since I’m educated in pharmacy. I only practiced for a few years before marrying and leaving pharmacy to run our horse farm. It’s been quite a journey for the left-brained pharmacist turned right-brained animal communicator, healer and author. Only when we utilize both hemispheres of our brain will we realize our soul’s full potential.

Shelagh: What’s the hook for the book?

Nancy: The hook will be the unique and amazing experiences I’ve shared with my personal animals, my client’s animals, equine patients of my ex-husband’s, as well as those that lived on our farm or were admitted to our hospital.

The lessons I’ve learned from a lifetime spent working with and caring for animals will take more than one book to recount. Letting Go needed to be written first in order for me to return to the woman I was before moving to the mountains.

The animal book(s) are something I’ve always known I’d write one day. The animals have so much that needs to be shared with people. Many have chosen me to be their voice, and I’m honored to share their wisdom with the human world.

Shelagh: How does your environment/upbringing color your writing?

Nancy: My writing flows from my heart onto the computer screen. Whenever my mind gets in the way, I end up deleting it. I’ve spent most of my life on a horse farm, so I’m an outdoor gal who loves to spend time in Nature. I’m very connected to where I live. My connection to Nature, the animals and the land are a huge part of who I am. All of these contribute to me being balanced and centered, which I feel is reflected in my writing.

When I’m communicating with an animal, I hear and feel. I’m an empathetic healer, so I possess an extremely acute sense of feeling. I write about what I see, hear, feel and intuit. Everything that is part of my environment contributes to the experiences that I have. All is incorporated into what I write, because it is part of who I am. Anyone who has read Letting Go knows I write honestly, which is the only way I know how to live.

Shelagh: Share the best review (or a portion) that you’ve even had.

Nancy: I have been blessed with so many wonderful reviews from readers that it’s hard to pick just one. I am so grateful to my readers for sharing with me how Letting Go has contributed to their healing. Here’s a few:

The most inspirational book I’ve read since The Power of Now!

I found this book to be so eloquently written and inspirational that I had a hard time putting it down. I could not believe all the heart breaks one person could take and still come through it all with flying colors. I am awestruck by Nancy’s communica­tion skills and challenge anyone who reads this book not to agree with me. Letting Go is also so much easier to read and comprehend than other inspirational books… her writing makes you feel so at ease, like you are feeling her pain and learning these lessons right by her side. I congratulate Nancy for finding her calling, committing to it and bringing so much happiness and serenity to people and animals in need. It probably made a huge impact on her recovering from such sadness. Kudos Nancy!

I found Nancy’s story compelling and meaningful and she captured my attention from the start. Vividly written in the heat of swirling emotions, her writing reflects the turmoil she is experiencing in her life after a stunning betrayal and turn of events. Through it, she reveals a Truth for anyone who reads this book – that from the most traumatic and heart wrenching moments in life can come healing and repair but it takes extremely hard internal work, brutal honesty about one’s self (“how did I/my psyche or soul contribute to this situation?”), the fortitude to not run away from challenges, and an openness to receiving insight from unexpected – and maybe unseen – sources. Nancy has done all that, and reading her book, I found that I could experience her metamorphosis from a traumatized, agitated, and deeply saddened girl into a peaceful, joyful, and calm adult. It’s a good read!

I found this book the most empowering story I have ever read. For anyone that is struggling with trying to get out from under, this is a gift. Nancy has a way of being able to put feelings on the written page so that you can identify and use them to help you along the way. Her story may not be your story, but the insight gained from her struggles will definitely give you many “light bulb moments.”

Shelagh: What are your current projects?

Nancy: Well, the first of the animal books. I contribute a weekly column, Animal Insights, on Thursdays to Petsense.com at http://www.petsense.blogspot.com. I have a print article, Life Lesson From Labradors, which is awaiting publication in Animal Wellness Magazine. I have several internet radio interviews scheduled in the next couple of months too.

Shelagh: Where can folks learn more about your books and events?

Nancy: My website, www.NancyKaiserAnimalCommunicator.com, has everything about me, my work with the animals and Letting Go. You can read testimonials about my work, reviews of Letting Go, as well as the first chapter. Personalized print copies of Letting Go can be ordered securely through my Website or digital copies are available from Smashwords.com or Amazon’s Kindle store.

The “Resources” button offers links to previous radio interviews and published articles, and the “Appearances” button displays my schedule of upcoming radio interviews and book signings.

Shelagh: Thanks for joining us today, Nancy.

Nancy: Thank you. I appreciate the opportunity.

Bookmark and Share
One Response to “Nancy Kaiser”

  1. Another Look « Rev. Nancy Kaiser Animal Communicator Says:

    […] If you missed my interview with Shelagh Watkins a couple of weeks ago, she has posted it on her blog, Literature & Fiction. Check it out at https://shelaghwatkins.wordpress.com/2010/01/16/nancy-kaiser/ […]


Leave a Reply

