Jess C. Scott

Jess C. Scott is primarily a writer/novelist/poet. In mid-2009, Jess decided to publish her first two books herself, after realizing those works weren’t exactly commercially categorizable. Her third novel is a more mainstream project.

Shelagh: Hi Jess, please tell us a little about yourself.

Jess: Writer. Artist. Dreamer. Doer. Twenty-three.

Shelagh: When did the writing bug bite, and in what genre(s)?

Jess: Before I turned five … I think it started with adventure. Crossed over into erotica when I turned eighteen. I write in several genres (young adult fiction, paranormal romance, GLBT, new media), but I’d lump most of it under “contemporary fiction.”

Shelagh: When you started writing, what goals did you want to accomplish? Is there a message you want readers to grasp?

Jess: I derive a great amount of satisfaction and meaning from the writing process. Readers are free to deduce/interpret my work(s) however they wish 😉

Shelagh: Briefly tell us about your latest book. Series or stand-alone?

Jess: My debut blog/IM novel was/is a stand-alone. I have some other projects that are currently in-the-works.

Shelagh: What’s the hook for the book?

Jess: EyeLeash captures self-discovery in the 2000s, and showcases the colorful, intricate drama in two youths’ relentless search for themselves — and what’s really in their hearts.

Shelagh: How do you develop characters? Setting?

Jess: I drift into their world, so much so that the realm of imagination can often be more real than what’s actually defined as “reality,” heh.

Shelagh: Who is the most unusual character?

Jess: Thus far, I’d perhaps consider Lucius Young to be unusual (an incubus that features in my second book, 4:Play — a short story collection).

Shelagh: Do you have specific techniques to help you maintain the course of the plot?

Jess: I plot and plan beforehand, to keep me focused.

Shelagh: Do you have a specific writing style?

Jess: It depends on the character(s) and the story.

Shelagh: How does your environment/upbringing color your writing?

Jess: There tends to be a multicultural aspect to most of my writing. I grew up in Singapore, a cosmopolitan and racially diverse city-state.

Shelagh: Share the best review (or a portion) that you’ve ever had.

Jess: Review Excerpt of EyeLeash: “…Jade is not infuriatingly self-deprecating the way Bella Swan (main character from Twilight) is, among many other differences. She’s got confidence, and it’s refreshing to read a book about a girl who actually thinks she’s got a good body. I think that’s so important.” — unlikelyaristotle on LibraryThing

Review Excerpt of Wicked Lovely (from 4:Play): “I was surprised that I ended up liking “Wicked Lovely”. Not too into the whole incest thing, especially in brother-sister relationships. (I have a brother myself, so thinking about that sort of theme is generally something I don’t indulge in.) But it worked in this story. I can only think of one other instance in which a brother-sister relationship didn’t bother me (Angel Sanctuary series). The fact that they were brother and sister is overshadowed by their sheer desire to be with one another, that that other person is the only person for them. That made the story for me.” — The Basement Crew

Shelagh: What are your current projects?

Jess: I am currently working on two (separate) young adult novels. They’re more mainstream than my first two books. I’m also in my last year of college, so my to-do list’s pretty full usually…

Shelagh: Where can folks learn more about your books and events?

Jess: www.jesscscott.com
www.facebook.com/jesscscott
www.twitter.com/jesscscott

Bookmark and Share
3 Responses to “Jess C. Scott”

  1. knightofswords Says:

    Ii can identify with this: “I drift into their world, so much so that the realm of imagination can often be more real than what’s actually defined as ‘reality.’” My wife, especially, recognizes the signs. I’m physically there in the room, but I’m not paying attention to anything because I am, in my reality, very far away.

    Malcolm

  2. Blog Tour « Blog Novel :: EyeLeash Says:

    […] 04 — Interview @ Shelagh Watkins | Literature & […]

  3. Jess C Scott Says:

    Hi Malcolm, thanks for the comment. As far as signs go, I think I start to get a glazed, blank look in my eyes (though mentally, it’s anything but blank!).

    It occasionally gets to a point where I start to consider myself delusional.

    But I’ll think of this quote by Mr. Albert Einstein:

    “Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited to all we now know and understand, while imagination embraces the entire world, and all there ever will be to know and understand.”


Leave a Reply

