Elizabeth Bennett

Elizabeth Bennett is currently listed with Who’s Who and has been recognized as one of the Great Women of the Twenty-first Century by the American Biographical Institute.

Shelagh: Please tell us a little about yourself, Elizabeth.

Elizabeth: I grew up in the state of South Carolina. I’m a 1995 graduate of Clemson University with a M.Ed in Guidance and Counseling Services. I worked in the agency setting with children and adults for six years. Since 1995, I’ve been working on Peer Abuse through observational research and theory development. Through speaking engagements, talk radio, newspaper, internet and television, I’ve been able to educate others on Peer Abuse in the USA and Canada.

Shelagh: When did the writing bug bite, and in what genre(s)?

Elizabeth: I played around with writing as a teenager by writing plays. I wrote for the newspaper in college and as an adult have been writing. I blog, write articles and wrote my book “Peer Abuse Know More! Bullying from a Psychological Perspective”. So, off and on I have been writing for about 20 something years. Now, it is part of my work.

Shelagh: When you started writing, what goals did you want to accomplish? Is there a message you want readers to grasp?

Elizabeth: When I started writing it was for fun. I never had any goals set at all. Now, I do as I try and use my writing in educating others. I try to write at least three times a week.

Shelagh: Briefly tell us about your latest book. Is it part of a series or stand-alone?

Elizabeth: My book is a stand-alone. I use it as an educational tool on bullying and the fact that bullying is abuse.

Shelagh: What’s the hook for the book?

Elizabeth: That Peer Abuse is an adult problem because as adults, we allow it to continue.

Shelagh: How does your environment/upbringing color your writing?

Elizabeth: As I was bullied growing up and during the early part of my adulthood, it helps tremendously in educating others and knowing this problem and the realities of it.

Shelagh: Share the best review (or a portion) that you’ve ever had.

Elizabeth: “I met Elizabeth through networking after I was a Crisis Counselor at Columbine High School 4/20/99. I had researched the main causes of school violence and being bullied, as told by teens, was the top reason why. Having been through Peer Abuse herself, Elizabeth has dedicated her life in helping others understand how harmful bullying can be. The affects of being bullied as children can stay with them for the rest of their lives. Elizabeth, in her book and networking, shares such important information about bullying and how it can be stopped. For that I highly applaud her journey as she educates others.”

Ruthie Owen, former Columbine High School Crisis Counselor. Colorado

Shelagh: What are your current projects?

Elizabeth: Basically, writing each week on my blog and articles. Also, speaking at two schools in the near future to educate children and adults on the dangers of bullying.

Shelagh: Where can folks learn more about your books and events?

Elizabeth: Please visit me at http://www.peerabuse.info or can follow me on Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/PeerAbuse .

Shelagh: Thank you for visiting us today, Elizabeth.

Elizabeth: Thanks for all you do and have a good week…

Bookmark and Share
Leave a Reply

