Kaylin McFarren

Kaylin is a member of RWA, Rose City Romance Writers, and Willamette Writers. She received her AA in Literature at Highline Community College, which originally sparked her passion for writing. In her free time, she also enjoys giving back to the community through participation and support of various educational organizations in the Pacific Northwest, and is currently the president of the Soulful Giving Foundation – a non-profit she and her husband formed to fund expanded research, and the care and treatment of cancer patients and their families.

Hi Kaylin, Please tell everyone a little about yourself. 

As many people know, I wasn’t born with a pen in hand like so many of my talented fellow authors. However, I have been involved with business and personal writing projects for many years. My careers have taken me in all directions, ranging from fashion modeling and interior design to office manager and art gallery director. Yet my love of reading and interest in creative writing has remained ever present. As a result of tapping into my imagination and utilizing my own life experiences, I have earned more than a dozen literary awards. My first novel, Flaherty’s Crossing was a 2008 finalist in the prestigious RWA® Golden Heart contest and my second book, Severed Threads, has already garnered two first place awards.

When did the writing bug bite, and in what genre(s)?

Kaylin: I was one of those kids who couldn’t put a book down, especially when it came to fantasy and sci-fi. When I hit my adolescent years, I turned into a romance junkie – buying used books at garage sales and begging for hand-me-downs from friends. In high school, I broadened my scope and got into mysteries and thrillers, and now I’m loving romantic suspense. So, I guess you could say I love all genres.

 When you started writing, what goals did you want to accomplish? Is there a message you want readers to grasp? 

Kaylin: I’m compelled to write because my brain keeps me up at night with possibilities. Once I have a story in my head, I’m completely consumed. If I don’t put it on paper or on my computer, I’m convinced I’ll be haunted by the failed opportunity to impact other people’s lives.

Briefly tell us about your latest book. Is it part of a series or stand-alone?

Kaylin: Severed Threads is an action adventure story and the first book of three in the Threads series.

What’s the hook for the book?

Kaylin: Everyone is after the Heart of the Dragon, lives are on the line, but exactly what it is remains a mystery.

Who’s the most unusual/most likeable character?

Kaylin: I would have to say Ian Lowe. He’s a crusty Irish helmsman with an eye for the ladies, which often gets him into trouble.

Do you have specific techniques to help you maintain the course of the plot?

Kaylin: I typically create a synopsis then use this to write each chapter. But in actuality, I’m one of those authors who likes to let their character direct the story line and take readers on an adventure. Sometimes they even surprise me!

Do you have a specific writing style? Preferred POV?

Kaylin: I write third person and enjoy rotating points of view, however, when my characters are together, I try to stay in the main character’s head.

How does your environment/upbringing color your writing?

Kaylin: I was born in California and grew up in Washington and Oregon, so my stories tend to focus on the Northwest. I’ve also traveled around the world and am bringing my experiences into the Threads series.

Share the best review (or a portion) that you’ve ever had.

Kaylin:

 “I found Kaylin McFarren to be a very descriptive writer. She is able to describe people and situations in a clear yet interesting manner without becoming too wordy or boring. I would liken her writing style to that of Danielle Steele and I think her works will make a wonderful addition to the romance genre.”  – Charline Ratcliff, RebeccasReads

What are your current projects?

Kaylin: Severed Threads is the first book of three in the Threads series. I’m currently working on Buried Threads which brings my characters to Asia.

Where can folks learn more about your books and events?

Kaylin: My website – www.kaylinmcfarren.com.   

Thanks for joining us today, Kaylin.

Kaylin: Thank you!

Bookmark and           Share

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

